Bronchitis for Christmas!

Santa and snowmen on our mantle.

Santa and snowmen on our mantle.

Bronchitis for Christmas! Yep! I’ve got it! But I went to the doctor yesterday and now have some great meds to fight it. I couldn’t help but thank God for the wonderful health care that we have in our country. It’s no fun to take medicine, but I know that I will get better quickly with it.

Anyway, so I was at the doctor’s yesterday, right? I ended up waiting about 3 hours to see him, so I was finished with my magazine well before I was called.

I was sitting there. A lady to my right was on her phone. There was one couple and a lady facing me. Suddenly, I couldn’t stand it. I had been stuck inside for 2 days and missed church on Sunday. I missed talking with friends!

I started talking to the people around me. “So, is it the flu?” They all shook their heads and laughed. Facebook is ablaze with reports of Friends and their kids who are down with the flu.

That started the talking. One lady has a canine and cat boarding business. One of her customers had to cancel their Christmas trip because they caught the flu. According to the lady, the family was going to board a couple of pooches, maybe a cat or two, and a bearded dragon.

From there we started talking about our pets. One lady has a farm with donkeys on it.

We had a good time talking and laughing, except I had to bow out of the talking because my throat was sore, but I enjoyed listening to their tales. A man on the other side of the room even joined in on the conversation.

That’s life in the south. Give us fifteen minutes, and we’re all friends!

Merry Christmas, Everyone, and maybe I’ll rally energy to blog more before Christmas Day! But better bronchitis than the flu, right?

Love,
Stephanie

Princess Buttercup decorates her gingerbread house.

Princess Buttercup decorates her gingerbread house.

Lefty and me at his company Christmas party this year.

Lefty and me at his company Christmas party this year.

My house?  No, but I wish it were!

My house? No, but I wish it were!

Home in Madison, Alabama.

Home in Madison, Alabama.

6 thoughts on “Bronchitis for Christmas!

  1. Bronchitis was not a nice present from Santa but hopefully you will be over it soon with the meds! I loved your line That’s life in the south. Give us fifteen minutes, and we’re all friends!” –so true. That is what I miss about where we live now. There is just not that same southern feeling. Where do you live in Alabama? Inquiring minds…..

    • Hi Beth Ann! I’m sorry I’m late getting back with you. Christmas happened, and I’ve *still* got bronchitis! I went back to the doc and thought I’d have a new post: Pneumonia for New Years! 🙂 But fortunately I don’t have that.

      So I live near Huntsville, Alabama. The Rocket City. Our engineers built the Saturn V rocket that helped to send man to the moon.

  2. Lovely conversation at docs. While I no longer live in the “real” South, I, too, begin conversations in the doctor’s office. I find people today to up tight, or something, to converse with one another openly, so I figure someone has to do it! 🙂 Having been almost a life long friend of your mom’s she can tell you that, while it took me many years to get over shyness, I’ve made brilliant growth in that direction and now, seldom am at a loss for words. 🙂 Your mom is very dear to me and I love her very much. I also know ‘the apple doesn’t fall very far from the tree’ (forgive me for likening you to an apple, nor her, a tree 🙂 Keep the stories coming. I love the one about Pony for Christmas.

Leave a comment